Living with a melanoma

driving

I think Steve had one of those ‘just do it’ days today.  I went to work and he a) drove to St Ives – to renew my (!) library books b) lugged the compost out of the back of the car and c) planted out a few little plants. He’s still standing and no little nap this afternoon.  The drain is about the average and he has no extra pain.  Look, I know I promote exercise as part of my work – but really, really, I did not tell him to do all this.  But do you know what?  He looks brighter than I have seen him look for a while.  I know what it is – its because I left him a list – you just can’ t beat a jobs list to motivate you.  (I can practically hear some of you saying, ‘leave the man alone, cut him some slack’ !)

I am off to see the commissioners tomorrow to try to persuade them to commission exercise programmes for people with health issues from us.  Well, if you don’t ask ………I’ll let you know how it goes.  A long awaited phone call with another organisation has been postponed – but I can get the information to them by email.  Life is full of raised and dashed hopes, work arounds and compromises.  What I struggle with is ‘letting it go’.  So what if things didn’t work out just as I planned – work round it, come at it a different way. Concede the point – will it matter in 5 years time?  or even 5 weeks time?  Don’t sweat the small stuff, save your energies for the big things in life.

Another prayer in our toilet (I wonder what sort of picture you have of this worship type place?!)  

‘God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, 

the courage to change the things I can

and the wisdom to know the difference’

 

I know its old hat, I know its been said many times, but in my mind it still holds true and never more so than now.

Comments on: "driving" (1)

  1. leave the man alone, cut him some slack…!

Leave a comment